Redirecting emails from Algonquin address

If you are like me and do not want or need yet another email address to check, you might want to redirect your newly discovered Algonquin Outlook Web Access (OWA) email messages to an address you check regularly. This procedure will also allow you to retain access to emails after the course is finished, when the college removes access.

The process is quite simple once you know where to look:

Log on your OWA account, click Options below your name in the upper right corner, beside the Help icon, and click Create and Inbox Rule… (see Figure 1)

Click the dropdown arrow beside New and select Create a new rule for arriving messages… (see Figure 2)

In the New Inbox Rule dialog box that opens (see Figure 3):

  1. Select [Apply to all messages] in the When the message arrives, and: Select one field
  2. Select [Redirect the message to …] in the Do the following: Select one field
  3. Click Select people…,

Type the address into the field at the top of the Address Book Web dialog that opens, and click OK (see Figure 4)

Click <Save>after being returned to the Rules dialog box

I suggest sending yourself and email to test that the rule worked.

There is a video available at http://help.outlook.com/en-US/141/ms.exch.ecp.LearnRedirectTo.aspx. I was going to produce my own video, but if I understand WordPress correctly, I would have to pay for the privilege of imbedding my own video, and I wasn’t willing to go that far.

3 thoughts on “Redirecting emails from Algonquin address

  1. Great suggestion Peggy! My algonquinlive.com emails are now redirected to the email I use most often and it is much easier for me to stay on top of class news.

Leave a Reply

